top of page

 Orwell: The Annotated Editions

David's annotated editions of Orwell's six novels continue with Coming Up For Air (1939) and Keep the Aspidistra Flying (1936). Both titles, published by Constable in June 2022, contain Orwell's original text, an introduction, extensive footnotes and a selection of reviews and other relevant material.


This follows the release of annotated editions of Animal Farm (1945) and Nineteen Eighty-Four (1949) in Summer 2021. Burmese Days (1934) and A Clergyman's Daughter (1935) will follow in June 2023. David's new biography, Orwell: The New Life, will be published in May 2023.


       Stewkey Blues: Stories

A new collection of 15 stories, set in David's home county of Norfolk.

'In his solid, grounded, entertaining collection of stories, DJ Taylor draws out the mythical qualities of East Anglia's terrain, urban or rural or somewhere marginal in between'

Hilary Mantel

'Sharp, subtle stories'

Hephzibah Anderson, Observer

'No one should be deterred by the Norfolk setting, for only in the most literal sense is this provincial fiction. After Stewkey Blues, I for one would happily read Taylor about anywhere'

Andrew Rosenheim, Spectator

bottom of page